Landrum Fire and Rescue District

Meeting of The Commission Minutes: January 22, 2018 6:10pm at the Landrum Fire and Rescue District Station

In Attendance:

Commissioners: Pam Hilsman, Scott Owens, JR Jackson, Diana Winkler and Joe Brown

Others Present: Warren Ashmore, Taft Matney, Joe Brown and Robert Farmer

Proceedings:

Invocation was given by Warren Ashmore.

Pledge of Allegiance was led by Pam Hilsman.

In accordance with South Carolina legal requirements, meeting notification was posted on the Landrum Area Fire and Rescue door and website (landrumfire.com).

The newly elected Commission Board members were sworn into their positions.

Election of Commission Board Officers took place. Results:

Chairperson Pam Hilsman
Vice Chairperson Diana Winkler
Secretary / Treasurer JR Jackson

Minutes of the previous meeting on November 27, 2017 were read and approved.

Old Business

Discussion took place on sponsoring a scholarship for graduating seniors. MOTION to sponsor up to 2 scholarships in the amount of \$1,000 each for graduating seniors of the class of 2018 from Landrum High School or seniors who live within The District's boundaries was made by Scott Owens and seconded by Diana Winkler, unanimous.

Treasurer's Report

JR Jackson presented the Treasurer's Report for the months of December 2017 and January 2018.

Fire Chief's Report

Warren Ashmore presented the Fire Chief's Report for the months of December 2017 and January 2018.

Diana Winkler stated, "Pursuant to Section 30-4-70(a)(1) of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, I MOVE that this body enter executive session for the purpose of discussing compensation of an employee or employees, Section 30-4-70(a)(2) for the purpose of discussing negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements, and Section 30-4-70(a)(3) regarding the development of security personnel or devices ." The motion was seconded by Scott Owens, unanimous.

MOTION to end executive session was made by Scott Owens and seconded by JR Jackson, unanimous. No decisions were made and no votes were taken during executive session.

MOTION to authorize the Chairperson to compensate the Fire Chief a merit based increase resulting from his annual review starting on the pay period beginning January 20, 2018 was made by Scott Owens and seconded by JR Jackson, unanimous.

New Business

Discussion took place on the availability of a plan offered by Aflac.

MOTION to adjourn at 8:15pm was made by Scott Owens and seconded by Joe Brown, unanimous.

Submitted by

JR Jackson