Landrum Fire and Rescue District

Meeting of The Commission Minutes: January 28, 2019 6:00pm at the Landrum Fire and Rescue District Station

In Attendance:

Commissioners: Pam Hilsman, Chairperson, JR Jackson, Secretary/Treasurer, Scott Owens and

Joe Brown

Others Present: Warren Ashmore and Taft Matney

Commissioners Not in Attendance:

Diana Winkler, Vice Chairperson, Reason: Illness

Proceedings:

Invocation was given by Scott Owens.

Pledge of Allegiance was led by Pam Hilsman.

In accordance with South Carolina legal requirements, meeting notification was posted on the Landrum Fire and Rescue door and website (landrumfire.com).

Minutes of the previous meeting on November 26, 2018 were read and approved.

Old Business

No discussion took place on offering accidental bridge benefits.

An update was given on the scholarship sponsored by The District. The scholarship recipient will be selected on February 8, 2019.

Discussion took place on either removing or replacing the four awnings over the exterior entrance doors at the station.

Treasurer's Report

JR Jackson presented the Treasurer's Report for the month of January 2019.

Fire Chief's Report

Warren Ashmore presented the Fire Chief's Report for the month of January 2019. He also presented a report on 2018 Year End Review and his goals for The District for 2019.

New Business

There was no new business.

Scott Owens stated, "Pursuant to Section 30-4-70(a)(1) of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, I MOVE that this body enter executive session for the purpose of discussing compensation of an employee or employees." The motion was seconded by JR Jackson, unanimous.

MOTION to end executive session was made by Scott Owens and seconded by JR Jackson, unanimous. No decisions were made and no votes were taken during executive session.

MOTION to authorize the Chairperson to compensate the Fire Chief a merit based increase resulting from his annual review starting on the current pay period was made by JR Jackson and seconded by Scott Owens, unanimous.

MOTION to adjourn at 7:59pm was made by Joe Brown and seconded by Scott Owens, unanimous.

Submitted by

JR Jackson